Songwriter Nominees 2020 Hall of Fame Announced

Songwriter nominees for 2020 are out and RTT New has the story.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its list of nominees to be voted upon for induction in 2020. In all, 24 performing and non-performing songwriters were nominated.

The performing songwriters nominated for induction include The Neptunes, Mariah Carey, Journey, Annie Lennox, Dave Stewart, the Isley Brothers, OutKast, R.E.M., Patti Smith, Gloria Estefan, David Gates, Vince Gill, Beach Boys founder Mike Love and Steve Miller.

A songwriter with a notable catalog of songs qualifies for induction 20 years after the first significant commercial release of a song.

Eligible voting members will cast their ballots till December 16 with their choices of three nominees from the songwriter category and three from the performing songwriter category.

The winners will be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame at its 51st Annual Induction & Awards ceremony on June 11, 2020, in New York City.