Van Morrison Announces Release of His New Album

Source: RTT Music News

Van Morrison has announced that his new album, Moving On Skiffle, will be released on March 10, 2023.

Morrison offered a preview of the album by recently sharing its lead single, "Streamline Train."

"I was still in school when I performed with a skiffle band - a couple of guitars, washboard, tea-chest bass," Morrison said. "I was already familiar with Lead Belly's recordings so when I heard Lonnie Donegan's version of 'Rock Island Line' I intuitively understood what he was creating. I knew that it was what I wanted to do. It was like an explosion. This record retranslates songs from that era".

"Chas McDevitt's book is where to start when it comes to the history of skiffle," he added. "From the very beginning with Lead Belly and the jug bands laying the foundations through to Lonnie Donegan's influence, and Chas McDevitt's skiffle group, it's all in there."

Key contributors on the 23-track album include Dave Keary (guitars), Pete Hurley (bass), Colin Griffin (drums) and Sticky Wicket (washboard). Current Brit folk favorite Seth Lakeman also contributes fiddle to five songs.

Morrison also announced details of some special intimate album launch shows at The Stables in Milton Keynes on March 13, 14 and 15 and at Whitla Hall in Belfast on April 6 and 7.

Fans who pre-order the album at by 5 pm on October 31 will receive access to a ticket pre-sale, which opens at 10 am on November 1. The pre-sale remains live until tickets go on general sale at 10 am on November 4.

Moving On Skiffle tracklist:

1. Freight Train 2. Careless Love 3. Sail Away Ladies 4. Streamline Train 5. Take This Hammer 6. No Other Baby 7. Gypsy Davy 8. This Loving Light of Mine 9. In The Evening When the Sun Goes Down 10. Yonder Comes A Sucker 11. Travellin' Blues 12. Gov Don't Allow 13. Come On In 14. Streamlined Cannonball 15. Greenback Dollar 16. Oh Lonesome Me 17. I Wish Was An Apple On A Tree 18. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry 19. I'm Movin' On 20. Cold Cold Heart 21. Worried Man Blues 22. Cotton Fields 23. Green Rocky Road